Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2197 karma points MVP
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 13:52
    Kim Andersen
    0

    Possible to link from one section to another

    Hi there

    I have an Umbraco running version 6.2.1. I have made a data type that I have put on my images inside of Umbraco, using the Umbraco Usercontrol Wrapper. So far so good.

    On this data type I would like to have a link from the media, to a specific node in the content tree. So I would like to give the users a link where they can go from a media in the media section, to a content node in the content section.

    I know that I can link to a content node from eg. a dashboard in the content section this way:

    <a href="/umbraco/editContent.aspx?id=1234">Link to specific node width nodeid 1234</a>
    

    But if I link from a media in the media section this way, I get the content node loaded in the area to the right of the tree. It just replaces the media with the content, keeping the tree from the media section.

    So I wanted to hear if any of you know how to link from a media in the media section, to a specifik node in the content section somehow?

    Thank you very much in advance!

    /Kim A

  • Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2996 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 14:45
    Anders Bjerner
    0

    If you update the link a little, you can do that with JavaScript:

    window.top.openContent(1234);
    

    It will automatically select the node in the content tree, and open the node for editing.

  • René Pjengaard 118 posts 702 karma points c-trib
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 14:54
    René Pjengaard
    102

    Hi Kim,

    maybe this is what you are looking for: 

    /umbraco/umbraco.aspx?app=content&rightAction=editContent&id=1234#content

     

    /René

  • Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2197 karma points MVP
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 15:13
    Kim Andersen
    0

    @Anders: Thanks, but it looks like this does the same as before :-/ Maybe I'm using your code the wrong way? I just tried poutting it in a onclick-attribute on the link, and adding a return false; at the end as well. If that wasn't what you ment please let me know :)

    @René: Looks like it's working. Thank you a bunch :)

    /Kim A

  • Anders Bjerner 487 posts 2996 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 15:15
    Anders Bjerner
    0

    @Kim, is was pretty sure that I tested that it worked in other sections than the Content section, but I can't reproduce it now, so probably just me posting too quickly :(

  • Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2197 karma points MVP
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 15:15
    Kim Andersen
    0

    Nevermind Anders. Looks like René had a good solution, so I'm just going with that. Thanks anyway :)

    /Kim A

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies