Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Simon 692 posts 1068 karma points
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:45
    Simon

Relationship between nodes from CMS - Umbraco 7+

Hi,

I'm quite new to Umbraco and currently, I am using the Umbraco 7.2.

I decided to use Umbraco for a new website, and for the first time.

Now I got stucked when coming to relations between nodes, from the Umbraco back office.

Basically, I have two document types: Class and Student
    Then I want to relate a particular student with a class. 

For exmaple, if I create a Class named 2HND, then I want to relate existing created students {Mark and Simon} with that class, maybe using relation types. But then I want that if I navigate to Mark or Simon Content page, I need to see the related school class, which is in this case is 2HND.

Appreciate any help.

Thank you very much.

Regards

• Dave Woestenborghs 3504 posts 12133 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:52
    Dave Woestenborghs

Hi

You can solve this in 2 ways using Multinode picker or a picker from nuPickers package.

Solution 1:

On the class documenttype you add a picker that allows you to pick students

Solution 2 :

On the student documenttype you add a picker that allows you to pick a class.

Is this clear ?

Dave

Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:57
    Simon

Hi Dave,

Thank for your fast reply.

I have already tried it with MultipleNode Tree Picker but it is not such practical.

I have create Class named 2HND.

I have create Student named Mark.

Then I go back to class 2HND and related that class with student Mark. But If I go to Mark content page, I do not see the school class 2HND related, but I had to relate again Mark with 2HND,. which is not that such pratcial.

I would like something which actually create a relationship as described in my first email.

Any ideas?

Thanks Dave.

Regards

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:01
    Dave Woestenborghs

Hi,