Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Andrew Burgess 14 posts 73 karma points
    May 05, 2015 @ 18:20
    Andrew Burgess

Rich Text Editor not showing (Loading...)

I've been running with Umbraco for about 8 months now and have an issue that has been bugging me a bunch.

The Rich Text Editors seem to be very, very flakey. At times they don't load at all and I need to refresh the page multiple times. Other times they will simply render as a text box or will not render at all, leaving some 'Loading...' text behind. This is incredibly frustrating and we're getting to the point where we want to hand over the keys to users outside of the business, but the RTE's not loading is going to cause a load of issues.

We're on version 7.2.4 and if I open up the console when I'm in the back office I'll get the following errors:

Here is what tends to render. All of the section should be RTEs.

Anyone have a clue? There are certain places in the back office where I never see an RTE anymore and there is no way I can go live with this untill there is a solution.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 05, 2015 @ 20:59
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Andrew

That's odd - I have heard about others having these kind of issues and have seen them myself in older installations but usually it has been due to some missing files when deploying between environments - Locally it has only happened if the files needed for the RTE has been ignored in our .gitignore file for some weird reason.

I have never experienced it happening on a fresh installation on my own local machine so I don't think it's necessarily a bug but something that happens because of other events like deploying, source control, missing permissions to read the needed files etc.