Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• manwood 87 posts 109 karma points
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:07
    manwood

Free templates / skins for Umbraco ..

Hi

I am completely new to Umbraco, I have done a search so apologies if this has been asked many times before.

Can anyone point me to some sites or sources of free templates or skins for Umbraco?

I have seen the few listed here and the four at freeumbracotemplates.com - are there any others?

Thanks

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:24
    Dirk De Grave

Nope, as umbraco does not restrict you in any ways on how the site will look like (opposed to the other open source cms's that more or less "force" you to use skins/template layouts/whatever they called it...)

Seriously, any layout is possible, just as with plain old asp.net (in fact, umbraco uses .net masterpages for templating purposes)

Cheers,

/Dirk

Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:35
    manwood

Thanks Dirk.

So just so I understand, I can use any css layout in a standard master page?

Can you recommend a good introductory tutorial? I am experienced with C#/ASP.NET.

Thanks

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:47
    Rich Green

You can use any CSS, any javascript and layout you like as if you were coding in straight c# asp.net.

I'd recommend Umbraco.tv though it is a subscription, try it for a month it'll be money very well spent!

I like you (like most here) came from .net, what's great is that you can still use c# usercontrols if you ever need to inline with the Umbraco functionality.

R

Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:48
    Rich Green

and yes, Umbraco uses standard master pages

Jan 16, 2010 @ 16:49
    Rich Green

Sorry, wish I could edit these posts!

I highly recommend installing Umbraco and then installing "Creative Website Starter" http://our.umbraco.org/projects/creative-website-starter-(cws)