Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Christian Foged 37 posts 58 karma points
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:06
    Christian Foged

Member login

Hi to all of you.

I'm currently having some problems making a login section, with the MemberControls package, provided in the package repository section. When I try to add it to templates / pages etc - nothing really happens... It's lie the form elements are not being generated... 

Any suggestions how to resolve the problem, or alternatives?

What I need is a simple login/logout function for pages/sections with limited public access, using the built in Umbraco access control. For this the description of the MemberControls package sounded perfect.

I'm using Umbraco 4.0.3

BTW: I'm only level 1 certified, I'm not a programmer - so making custom usercontrols etc is not an option. Also why Umbraco is perfect for me - being able to custom build websites wtih HTML, CSS and a bit of XSLT knowledge, without programming skills is great.

Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:09
    Christian Foged

Forgot to mention, that I of course use the Member section to control logins, and that access should be controlled on Member Group level. :o)

• Dan 1285 posts 3917 karma points c-trib
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:10
    Dan

Sounds like an obvious place to start, but I know that package doesn't give you <form runat="server"> tags around the form elements.  Are your input boxes inside a form?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:53
    Jan Skovgaard

You can try and place this ASP.NET control in your login template: <asp:Login ID="Login1" runat="server"></asp:Login>

It should provide you with all the functionality you need if I have understood your question correctly.

/Jan

Feb 02, 2010 @ 23:26
    Christian Foged

Thank's for the input - they both helped in the understanding...