Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • atze187 160 posts 215 karma points
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 15:54
    atze187
    0

    Rich text editor and em-values for font size

    Hi,

    I stumbled across problems when using em as unit for font-size values in editor-enabled css classes that show up in the "Format" dropdown list). In my case text is very small which (in my opinion) is caused by the font-size of the umbraco panels that surround the editor. Are there any known solutions to this?

    André

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 18:18
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi André

    I'm not 100% sure but when you are using ems it can happen that the font-size decreases because of some multiplying (done by the browser) that returns a font-size that is smaller than you intended it to be.

    I think that when using editor-enabled CSS that you should stick to using absolute sizes.

    /Jan

  • Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 18:29
    Douglas Robar
    1

    I tend to add a special css file for the richtext editor to apply overrides to clear a background image or that sort of thing. You could probably set the font-size starting point as well I should think, though I've not tried it.

    Here's an example of how I target the RTE...

    /* USED ONLY BY THE TINYMCE RICHTEXT EDITOR; NOT USED ON THE SITE ITSELF */

    html {
    background: none !important;
    }
    .mceContentBody,
    .mceEditorIframe {
    background-color: #FFFFFF;
    background-image: none;
    margin-bottom: 0;
    }

    cheers,
    doug.

  • atze187 160 posts 215 karma points
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 08:13
    atze187
    0

    Thanks Doug, that requires me to sync between editor-only stylesheet on one hand and site stylesheet on the other hand, but that shouldn't come in too often.

  • Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 20:29
    Douglas Robar
    0

    You can certainly include any of the .mceContentBody, .mceEditorIframe {} items right in your main css. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so I like to keep them separate but its only a few extra bytes to download if you include them in your main css file so no real harm done by using just one css file for everything.

    cheers,
    doug.

  • Peter Dijksterhuis 1442 posts 1722 karma points
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 21:46
    Peter Dijksterhuis
    0

    Saved my day today Doug :)

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies