Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kevin Jump 1780 posts 11431 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Apr 24, 2018 @ 12:52
    Kevin Jump
    0

    Plumber Content Buttons not changing based on permissions

    Hi,

    I am using the latest (.7.7-Beta) version of plumber, and i am not sure if I've misunderstood something or configured it wrong. but the selection of options provided to a user in my workflow group is the same as someone who isn't in any groups.

    All users see the buttons like below:

    enter image description here

    but I thought my non-admin users would have their Save and Publish Permissions removed ?

    Is that right or have I missed something ?

    My site the top level node has a one stage workflow with a 'site admins' group set as approval. and in the settings I have 'site admins' as default group and the flow set to implicit.

    Kevin

  • Nathan Woulfe 411 posts 1530 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Apr 24, 2018 @ 22:00
    Nathan Woulfe
    0

    Hi Kevin

    Looking at this locally, I'm seeing the correct set of buttons based on the user permissions - caveat there though is that any user with access to the workflow section is treated as an administrator and will have the save and publish option in the sub-buttons.

    I've confirmed that with both a user in a workflow group, and a user not in any groups, both of whom do not have access to the workflow section

    Can you check the user access to the workflow section? That's the most likely cause.

    I might need to review the admin permissions, and simply use the Umbraco defaults rather than having a separate administrator context just for workflow. That would help too in that users could then have access to the workflow section, without that altering their publishing permissions...

  • Kevin Jump 1780 posts 11431 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    May 10, 2018 @ 13:59
    Kevin Jump
    0

    Hi

    Sorry for letting this hang, but I've had time to revisit this now:

    Just installed a fresh version of Plumber (0.7.8-rc) against the umbraco version you have in the repo (Umbraco 7.9.2).

    Fresh Install / standard starter kit:

    I have done the following:

    • Created an new workflow group called "Default Group"
    • Added the Admin user (so only account) to it.
    • In the workflow settings - set default group and flow type to implicit

    enter image description here

    • On the home node add the default group to the workflow

    enter image description here

    • Create a new umbraco user (Lesser User) just put them in the umbraco editor group - no workflow group

    • Login with the lesser user : they can't see the workflow section :

    enter image description here

    but they see these buttons :

    enter image description here

    Shouldn't the save and publish button be removed ??

    • Also the Admin User sees this :

    enter image description here

    (which is the same - but that's a screenshot of the admin account honest)

    Shouldn't the Admin Account have normal "save and publish" buttons ?

    Again, have i understood it correctly or am i missing a step somewhere?

    K

  • Nathan Woulfe 411 posts 1530 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    May 10, 2018 @ 23:23
    Nathan Woulfe
    0

    Hi Kevin

    The admin one is correct - if it's a node with a configured workflow, the default action is to submit into that workflow.

    Will have another look at the non-admin. I'm sure it was working correctly locally, but I've got some other changes in the pipeline so will confirm it works correctly with those in place.

    Changes will remove the requirement for setting a group on the root node, and the need to set a default group. I'd been working on the assumption that the workflow model would be applied to the entire content tree, but there are time when it might only be required on part, so having to set anything on the root is redundant.

  • Nathan Woulfe 411 posts 1530 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    May 11, 2018 @ 05:34
    Nathan Woulfe
    0

    Yup, that's a bug. Non-admin user is getting the full button set - should be seeing the request publish and save buttons only.

  • Nathan Woulfe 411 posts 1530 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    May 11, 2018 @ 05:48
    Nathan Woulfe
    0

    And just realised I'd fix this (pretty sure) but hadn't updated the project - have done so now, 0.7.8-rc-000202 is the latest version

    That includes the other changes I mentioned above, so the default group now does nothing and will be removed in future.

    Hopefully that's sorted it...

    N

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft